Home » General News

RIM wins domain dispute against Indian firm

by
 
 
14 May 2009 No Comment

rim-building

RIM has just won in victory in an internet domain name dispute against an Indian firm at the World Intellectual Property Right Organization (WIPO). 

RIM had challenged the registration of three domain names blackbberry.com, blckberry.com, and bllackberry.com — by the MumbaiDomains, a Mumbai-based firm, at the WIPO, stating they were similar to its trademark BlackBerry, and could be confused with it. 

“Save for the addition/deletion of a single letter, the disputed domain names are visually and phonetically identical to the famous blackberry trademark, which also supports a finding of confusion,” RIM had contended before the WIPO. 

The Geneva-based WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center has ordered the transfer of all three domain names used by Mumbai-based firm to RIM.

All the three disputed domain names are registered with eNom by MumbaiDomains.

Source: Times of India

-by Otoniel Bruno

Related posts:

  1. RIM resumes bid to buy Indian-owned company Certicom